AC Association Croquet

The winning teams from the three area leagues met at Wrest Park on Saturday 22nd September in the annual play-off to determine the right to represent the Eastern Region in the Secretary's Shield for 2013.

  Area League 2012  winners 2012 Play-off winners
The Chairman's Cup
Click for enlargement
League tables: Enfield
Colchester North

[Not contested]

See also:

AC League play-off results by year:
Previous AC league winners - summary

Since the Northern AC League was not contested in 2012, the EACF Area Play-off consisted of only two teams, the winners of the Beds & Herts and the Essex & Suffolk leagues. The match format of this final was therefore modified from the standard 3-way tie (bottom) to be the same as for the national Longman Cup, i.e. one game of doubles and six of singles, in order to ensure that a winner would emerge.

A full report can be found on the Enfield club website.

Enfield: Brian Havill (11), Wendy Spencer-Smith (18), David Frost (18), Brian Dawes (20)
Colchester North: Colin Hemming (0.5), Peter Kenward (3.5), Stan Stubbings (10), Ann Brookes (11)


Results (Enfield names first):
The winning Enfield team, L-R:
David Frost, Wendy Spencer-Smith, Brian Havill, Brian Dawes
Brian Havill & Brian Dawes

vs. Colin Hemming & Stan Stubbings

David Frost
Wendy Spencer-Smith

Brian Havill
Wendy Spencer-Smith
David Frost
Brian Dawes

vs. Peter Kenward
vs. Ann Brookes

vs. Colin Hemming
vs. Peter Kenward
vs. Stan Stubbings
vs. Ann Brookes



Area League Play-Off for the Chairman's Cup


  1. The winning team from each Area, 1 (Beds & Herts.), 2 (Essex & Suffolk) and 3 (Norfolk & Cambs.), will meet to determine the overall EACF league championship.
  2. The format will be normal handicap games of 26pts, doubles in the morning and single games in the afternoon. Singles games will be double-banked and the duration of each game will be 3ΒΌ hours.

    am: A1,A3 v B2,B4 B1,B3 v C2,C4 C1,C3 v A2,A4
    pm: A1 v C2
    A3 v C4
    B1 v A2
    B3 v A4
    C1 v B2
    C3 v B4

    A draw will take place in the morning to determine which teams will be designated A, B or C.

  3. All teams will comprise of four players (no handicap restriction).
  4. The Team Captain is to list his team in handicap order before the start of play and hand it to the manager. (If two or more players have the same handicap they can be listed per that teams preference.)
  5. The overall winner will be the team that has won the most games. However,
    1. If no winner can be determined then the who beat whom rule will apply. However,
    2. If still no winner can be determined then the team with the fewest wins on time will be the winner.
    3. If the contest is still undecided, then a peg shoot-out will be arranged by the Manager to determine the winner.
  6. The overall winner of the play-off will be presented with the 'Chairmans Cup' to be held for one year and will go forward to represent the Eastern Region in the Secretary's Shield for the next year.

Terrey Sparks