AC Association Croquet

Newport - Saturday 21st September

Manager: Terrey Sparks


Winner: St. Albans

Results vs.: St. Albans Colchester South Norwich Yare PLACE
St. Albans   4-3 w/o 1
Colchester South 3-4   w/o 2
Norwich Yare def def   3

The Chairman's Cup
Click to enlarge

AC League play-off results by year:

See also:

Previous AC league winners - all years

Unfortunately because the Northern League could not field a team, the AC League play-off was reduced to two teams, Colchester South and St. Albans, both winners of their respective leagues. This meant that as the normal format could not be applied it was decided by the manager Terrey Sparks to use the Longman Cup format instead.

The St. Albans winners L-R: Stuart Stafford,
Stephen Mills, Heather Bennett, Geoffrey Morrison

It was played at the Newport club whose lawns were in good condition although a little dry, fast and difficult to play – so difficult that at the end of play in all seven games, a mixture of doubles and singles, not one game had been pegged out. Still, play was keen and competitive and the games very close, not one winning by more than +8.

St. Albans managed to gain a 2–1 lead in the morning and despite a valiant fight back by Colchester they could not overturn this lead, and during the afternoon honours were even at two games each with St. Albans last year’s winner running out the 4–3 winners.


St. Albans Colchester South
Heather Bennett (3½) Jeff Farrington (2½)
Stephen Mills (12) Peter Kenward (5)
Geoffrey Morrison (14) Al Brown (5)
Stuart Staffer (16) John Skuse (16)

Report & photo by Terrey Sparks
Click on images for an enlargement

Area League Play-Off for the Chairman's Cup


  1. The winning team from each Area will meet to determine the overall EACF league championship.
  2. The format will be normal handicap games of 26pts, doubles in the morning and single games in the afternoon. Singles games will be double-banked and the duration of each game will be 3½ hours.
    am: A1,A3 v B2,B4 B1,B3 v C2,C4 C1,C3 v A2,A4
    pm: A1 v C2
    A3 v C4
    B1 v A2
    B3 v A4
    C1 v B2
    C3 v B4

    A draw will take place in the morning to determine which teams will be designated A, B or C.
  3. All teams will comprise four players (no handicap restriction).
  4. The Team Captain is to list his team in handicap order before the start of play and hand it to the manager. (If two or more players have the same handicap they can be listed per that teams preference.)
  5. If the contest is still undecided, then a shoot-off in which all team members take part using the "Hemming Tie Break" will take place to determine the winner.
    • The order of shooting will be decided between teams by lot.
    • With the highest handicaps from each team going first, all players shoot four balls at hoop 1 from the yard line.
    • Each ball scores 1 point for hitting the hoop, or 2 points if it has started but not completed running the hoop, or 3 points for running a hoop.
    • If one team's total is ahead of the rest after this procedure, then they are the winners.
    • Otherwise, any team with a total score less than the highest achieved drops out and the procedure is repeated until there is a winner.
  6. The overall winner of the play-off will be presented with The Chairman's Cup to be held for one year and will go forward to represent the Eastern Region in the Secretary's Shield for the next year.

Terrey Sparks